big in japan!

topic posted Thu, June 12, 2008 - 8:01 PM by  Jeremy
er... china?

I checked the stats page for my music website ( www.themoodchannel.com ) and the top referrers are the following two sites:

http://202.108.23.172/index.html

music.soso.com/

these sites collectively brought me a thousand hits... mostly for mp3s. did I mention that this is for the period of one *week*?

does anyone know what is going on with this? anyone else with similar phenomenon?
posted by:
Jeremy
New York City
  • Re: big in japan!

    Fri, June 13, 2008 - 1:14 PM
    I saw another post yesterday at another forum (www.maketunes.com) and one of the posters had mentioned that things were looking better for them since they had enabled downloads for members only...what had been happening is that there are several "bots" going out on the web and downloading mp3s indiscriminately.....this particular member had noticed a whole bunch of downloads of his mp3s....he had also somehow traced it back to a couple of sites that were selling ringtones....He was concerned to say the least. I am not saying that this is what is happening to you but, who knows?......then again, you may be a big hit in Asia....pack your bags!

    www.myspace.com/mortal_engines
  • Re: big in japan!

    Fri, June 13, 2008 - 6:35 PM
    I have noticed the same on my site.. I think it's a mp3 search engine.
    • Re: big in japan!

      Fri, June 13, 2008 - 10:22 PM
      honestly I don't give a hoot if people across the world are downloading my music... but I don't want my bandwidth to get exceeded from some robot downloading the same file over and over!
      • Re: big in japan!

        Sun, June 15, 2008 - 6:21 PM
        The concern though would be if someone is making money selling my stuff as a ringtone then, I sure as hell would want to get paid for it.

Recent topics in "Electronic Music Production"